Leadership Team

John Jeanetta – President and CEO

Appointed president and CEO of Heartland Family Service in 2009, John Jeanetta has led with passion and a strong belief in an expert, trauma-informed, and empowered workplace. John holds a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln/Gallup University, a Master of Science in Social Work degree from Columbia University, and a master’s specialization certification in gerontology.


Marzia Puccioni Shields – Chief Development Officer

As Chief Development Officer, Marzia oversees the agency’s fundraising efforts, volunteer involvement, marketing communications, and grant writing. Her career includes nearly 25 years of development and non-profit management experience with comprehensive experience in major gift cultivation and solicitation, planned and annual gifts and wills, endowment support, special events fundraising, sponsorship sales, and individual giving.


Greg Ryan – Chief Strategy Officer

Before serving as Chief Strategy Officer, Ryan served as a therapist, Program Director for Community Based Evaluations, and Director of Quality Improvement and Compliance. Greg facilitates the development, implementation and monitoring the agency’s strategic plan.


Amy Carolus – Chief Financial Officer

Amy joined the agency in January 2017. In her role, Amy is responsible for the financial matters and human resource functions of Heartland Family Service. She brings with her nearly 20 years of experience in leadership, planning, and program management, 12 of which have been in healthcare and human service settings. She received her Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and an Executive MBA from the University of Nebraska at Omaha. She and her husband have four children and live outside of Treynor, Iowa.


Mary O’Neill ­– Chief Program Officer

Mary oversees behavioral health programs in both Iowa and Nebraska, specifically for programs that address substance abuse, mental illness, and gambling addiction. In addition, she advocates for funding to address issues imperative to Heartland Family Service clientele. Mary has been honored by the Iowa Behavioral Health Association for her leadership statewide.


Kerry Wiles, LMHC, IADC, LIMHP – Clinical Director

Kerry joined Heartland Family Service in 2004 and held positions such as therapist, Clinical Supervisor, and Associate Clinical Director. As Clinical Director, Kerry runs the agency’s trauma-informed care initiative and supervises more than 50 therapists. Kerry holds Bachelors of Science degrees in Psychology and Sociology from Wayne State College, a Master of Science degree in Community Counseling from the University of Nebraska at Omaha, and is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor (IA), Licensed Independent Mental Health Practitioner (NE), and International Alcohol and Drug Counselor (IA).


Shamala Nadason – Vice President of Human Resources

Shamala began at Heartland Family Service as a Human Resources Specialist in 2005 before becoming Director of Human Resources in 2009. In December 2016, Sham was promoted to Vice President of Human Resources, for which she will continue to oversee services from recruitment, talent management, risk management, learning and development, compliance, and employee engagement. She graduated from the University of Nebraska at Omaha with degrees in Human Resources and Finance, and earned her PHR and SHRM-CP certification in HR. Sham and her husband, Mani, live in Papillion with their two children.

Keellia Guevara – Diversity Officer

Keellia came to Heartland Family Service in 2013 as a Problem Gambling Prevention Specialist and took on the Diversity Officer role in December 2016. In addition to overseeing the agency’s diversity and inclusion initiative, she also helps coordinate the five employee resource groups. Keellia graduated from the University of Iowa with a degree in Liberal Arts and has worked in social services since 2001, building community programs, engaging partnerships, and increasing positive experiences for youth and families. She and her husband, Pedro, live in Omaha with their two children.

Cindy Meyer, MPA – Quality Director, Compliance, Ethics, & Privacy Officer

Cindy joined Heartland Family Service in 2015 as the Quality Director and Privacy Officer. Cindy assumed the additional responsibilities of the Ethics and Compliance Officer in 2018. Cindy has spent the last 20 years in a variety of human services and non-profit roles including Patient Safety, Risk Management, Quality, and direct work with at-risk children and their families. She has a Masters in Public Administration from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.


Nicky Clark, MSW – Vice President, Community Well-Being

Nicky began at Heartland Family Service in 2011 and has held the positions of Ready in 5 Coordinator and Community Education Program Director. She oversees many of the Child and Family Well-Being programs which focus on early childhood, parenting, refugee and immigrant families, juvenile justice, and senior services. She graduated from the University of Nebraska at Omaha with a Masters in Social Work.

Mindy Paces,Vice President of Housing & Financial Stability

Mindy graduated from Wayne State in 2009 with a Bachelor’s degree in Human Services Counseling and a minor in Psychology. Her experience includes work in child welfare, intellectual and behavioral disabilities, and adolescent residential substance use treatment. In 2015, she started as a Case Manager in our Rapid Rehousing program, and became Program Director of our Heartland Housing Navigation and Homeless Diversion programs in 2017. She currently oversees many of the Housing, Safety, & Financial Stability programs.

LaQuinte Campbell, Executive Coordinator

As the Executive Coordinator, LaQuinte coordinates special projects of strategic importance for the agency. She serves as the liaison to the Board of Directors with responsibility of supporting the work of the Board, standing committees/task forces and management committees. She also facilitates the agency’s internal leadership development program-the Good Works Leadership Academy. LaQuinte comes to Heartland with a wealth of knowledge and experience in nonprofit, education, leadership and community service. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Education from Jackson State University and a Master of Science degree in Organizational Leadership from College of Saint Mary-Omaha.

Board of Directors

Megan Holtorf – Chair of the Board

Julie Strohfus – Vice Chair

Thomas A. Frette – Secretary

Carol Gendler – Assistant Secretary

David Warren – Treasurer

Juli Comstock
Melissa Crawford
Jisella Dolan
Shonna Dorsey
Cheri Duryea
Brad Eckhoff
Jason (Jay) Ferris
Thomas J. Gomez
Andrea Hargus
Mary Heistand
Dee Henry
Muhammad Javaid
Suzanne Kotula
Jacque Merritt
Kevin J. Miller
Dominique Morgan
Amy Olson
Josh Render
Abe Schlott
Julie Strohfus
Alan Thelen
David Warren
Lauren Weivoda
Nancy Williams

R. J. (Randy) Stevenson – Legal Advisor
John H. Jeanetta, MBA, MSW – President and CEO

Jefferson House Advisory Board

Jessica Fickbohm, President
Wendy Olson, Secretary
Laura Peters, Treasurer
Linda Doll
Amanda Hutton
Kate Kavan
Becky Lowry
Dave Millie
Lottie Mitchell
Deb Niles
Jamie Simpson
Tom Tamke
Kurt Bottorff, Honorary Member
Rachel Sorenson, Honorary Member

North Omaha Community Council

Janis Berry, Co-Chair
Marcia Walker, Co-Chair
Pam Berry
Palistene Gray Moore
Nicole Beasley
Karen Davis
Elaine Moon
Nancy Williams
Susan Whitfield
David Roper
Avis Roper

Sarpy Committee

Jonathan Jameson
Rick Rawley
Matt Smith

Southwest Iowa Advisory Board

Bryan Biederman
Julian Caldwell
Tricia Danielsen
Donna Dostal
Jim Koch
Kelley Kulesa
Haley Mace
Samir Mowad